A Pirate Looks at 40

Tri Fatherhood

sailing towards the sunset in the keys sailing towards the sunset in the keys

Dear Izzy, Max, and Kate,

I turned 40 a few days ago. Someone asked me how I feel about it; I’ve been thinking about that question ever since. I’m not sure – I guess that’s the answer. I expected to feel something more like sadness or loss or regret, but the truth is that I still feel the same as I ever have. Deep down, behind the occasional moments of over analysis I’m guilty of, I feel contentment at 40.

It’s like looking back on the best times of my life, and the worst, and admitting that I had no idea what they meant. Some of those times I understand now – but I didn’t at the time. I feel that way about 40. My buddy Bruce told me recently that life is better when you ask “What?” and not “Why?” – as…

View original post 1,623 more words

Leave a Reply

